New land owner

/ New land owner #1  

house in the woods

Just bought a home in Delaware County NY. It sits on 40 hilly and rocky brush and tree covered acerage. I need to maintain the dirt roads on the property, plant a few trees and pull a few stumps. After reading this forum and a lot of research. I have decided to by a Kubota 3700 next week. (size and cost has kept me from sizing up any higher) I am still confused with the rotary cutter and I hope that you can help. The dealer suggested the Bush Hog sq160. I am concerned that it will bog down with the brush that I need to keep under control. I know I am limited by the 30 hp at the pto.
Any suggestions? Thanks for any and all advice.

/ New land owner #2  
Welcome, good choice on the orange.

I just recently purchased an used L3130, similar size to 3700 but less hp. We really like it. I don't have "brush" to mow, mostly grasses and weeds. I studied rotary mowers, flail mowers and rear mount finish mowers.

My rear wheels are right at 72" so wanted something 6'. Rotary doesn't cut as clean as I wanted, and seems to take more power than flail or finish. Flail would have worked, but my PTO hp did not really support 6', perhaps 48" o 60". The finish mower seemed to be a good compromise for my use.

I bought a Land Pride FDR1672, rear discharge, 72" and it does what I need. When I get in tall grass or come across piles of cut grass that the sickle left couple of months ago, I have to slow down and let it cut or it can bog down a bit.

Check the weight of the mower (compare to what is listed in manual for max), ask yourself what you expect the results to be and see what fits your budget.

The finish mower is my first mowing implement for this tractor, but not my last. I will get some sort of brush hog eventually for cleaning up some brush areas that are currently not being mowed.

Good luck, let us know what you decide.

/ New land owner #3  
I bought my L3700SU last month and paired it with a 60" rotary cutter.