Aussie

/ Aussie #1  

CSX66

Tractor
Shibaura SP1740 & Husqvarna 1842
Hi All,

Just found this forum when searching for info on my tractor.

I'm down in Australia just near Melbourne and recently bought my first tractor (picking it up this weekend). I've had a bit of a go on my friends M-F 135 but I'm still a bit of a newb when it comes to tractors so keen to read and learn.

I've also got a Husqvarna 1842 Lawn tractor that keeps the grass down and tows a little trailer for garden stuff.

Cheers

Mike

/ Aussie #3  
Welcome aboard. In your post, you didn't state the make and model of tractor that you bought. Whatever tractor make and model you bought, just check out the tractor forum associated with your tractor. Plenty of useful info available there. :tractor::welcome:

/ Aussie
Thanks,

I bought a Shibaura sp1740. It's a compact 4x4 tractor. 17HP 3 cyl diesel.

Cheers

Mike

Last edited:
   / Aussie
Picked up my tractor on Saturday. My friend with the Massey Fergeson came down to help me load it up and give me a few tractor lessons.

We got it home and started checking it over. It's pretty good and just needs a little TLC. We stripped most of the sheet metal off it the check a few things out. The hydraulics were very slow and we traced that issue to a clogged hydraulic filter. we ran it temporarily without the filter and everything works great. I'll be fitting a new filter and probably changing the hydraulic oil.

It has a neat gear shifter on the dash that makes it a breeze to shift gears but it had a lot of play in it and was very sloppy and a bit hard to find gears. We pulled the mechanism out and found a broken roll pin in there and some wear in the linkage. A new roll pin and a bit of tweaking the linkage and it was good as new.