I am in the habit of using "mark posts as read" so that next visit, I can just click on posts since last visit. Sometimes, not always, I find a segment at the end of the new posts that are labelled:

The threads below have not been updated since your last visit but still contain unread posts

Why does this happen and can I de-select this option?