"The reality is that [US] consumers are willing to pay high prices."

/ "The reality is that [US] consumers are willing to pay high prices." #1  

deereman64

Silver Member
There is still upward pressure on crude prices. We have argued over demand from China and India, but the brutal fact is we are still prepared to pay up for gas. I dont think we have figured out where the US demand peaks out.

/ "The reality is that [US] consumers are willing to pay high prices." #2  
I can sympathize with everyone over gas prices. I work in the oil and gas industry. I pay the same price at the pump as anyone else.

BUT.

Overseas prices have been higher than US for years. Those people drive cars with 1.2L engines in them and walk to work if they live in town. Heck, I even seen a picture where there was 4 of them on one bicycle.

Americans won't do that. They also didn't worry about a guy like me in 1998-1999 when gas was $.89/gallon and I was hoping I had a job next week. At that time, accounting for inflation, oil and gas were cheaper than they had EVER been in the history of commercial hydrocarbon production. I knew what I was getting into in this industry, so I'm not looking for sympathy. My whole point is, there has to be middle ground. A lot of your gasoline prices are hiked by taxes and govt regulation of the different blends refineries must produce. The gasoline in Mississippi is not the same gasoline used on the left coast. The left coast has to have their air polluted by a special blend. It's that way in lots of regions of the country.

I will agree the oil company profits are excessive. But we help drive those profits. I have noticed however, that sticker prices on new vehicles comparable to my 1997 vehicle are closer in price to the 1997 price than I remember in a while. Talk about excessive, talk vehicle prices.