Heating Fuel Oil Tank

/ Heating Fuel Oil Tank #1  

Egon

Epic Contributor
I have taken to adding some conditioner whenever my heating fuel oil tank gets filled. :D

Does this do any good?

Does anyone else do this?

/ Heating Fuel Oil Tank #2  
If your tank is outside and subjected to below 0 (F), then conditioner or a mix of kerosene will be necessary to stop gelling on the coldest days.

As far as furnaces go, conditioner won't accomplish much, just make sure the fuel is filtered. Nozzles can clog fast!!

They do make an additive for use in older tanks which will help break up sludge in the bottom of the tank.

/ Heating Fuel Oil Tank #3  
I've been doing this for several years. Before I started adding conditioner, I had a couple episodes of fuel gelling and wax crystals forming in and clogging the filter. This usually occurred when the temperature remained at about 0 F or below.
Since I started adding conditioner, no problems. I used to run all over looking for "Heating oil conditioner". Then I just bought diesel anti-gel. When that got hard to find, I just started adding a bottle (3 qt) of Diesel Kleen (white bottle) when my tank is filled. It contains an anti-gel and seems to work just as good.

My heating oil provider will deliver oil with the treatment included for $.04 per gallon extra, which works out to about $8 per tank. This is about half the cost of the Diesel Kleen, but I prefer to add it myself-that way I KNOW it's in the tank.

Also, I used to only add the treatment in the coldest part of winter, but it seemed that about once a year the filter element would become clogged (with dirt, not wax), so I started adding the diesel kleen on every fill, and I haven't had that problem since, either.