Hydraulic oil and Rotella??

/ Hydraulic oil and Rotella?? #1  

WesinTx

This is my first time to post on the Forum. I have spent alot of time reading and trying to learn as much as I can, and the Forum has been very helpful.
I am afraid I mixed 1 Quart of Rotella in my Hydraulic oil tank. Is this going to be a major issue? Do I need to drain the Hydraulic oil and change the filter??
The tratcor is a Mahindra 4530 with 39 hours. Sure appreciate your help guys.

/ Hydraulic oil and Rotella?? #2  
carefully drain the oil keeping it clean, throw away the tractor and put the drained oil in a new tractor and you should be fine.

/ Hydraulic oil and Rotella?? #3  
^^^^ Now thats funny right there !

I wouldn't worry about a quart of oil being mixed in.

/ Hydraulic oil and Rotella??
Thanks, that is what I thought, about the oil that is :)
It also has a 1/4'' thick belly pan that covers the entire bottom, and there are no holes cut in it for any of the drains?? Now I can wait till it gets a little cooler to drop that, and cut the drain holes.

/ Hydraulic oil and Rotella?? #5  
Some hyd systems use 30w engine oil... I think you will be -FINE-

soundguy

/ Hydraulic oil and Rotella?? #6  
I have been posting on issues related to hydraulic fluids as you can see. I can tell you about a conversation I had with the tech staff at Shell today. One of the things they told me is that most hydrualic fluids today are non-foaming...and a lot of different products will work ok, but one thing not to do is mix them becasue it can cause the fluid to foam...which as I understand it is not good.

I error on the side of caution, and I don't necessarily disagree with the others that have said its ok...especially Soundguy who has been very helpful to many on this board...but I am just saying, if it were me I would change it. A lot cheaper than rebuild, and if your tractor is still under warranty, they might claim the mix voided it.