Which lubricant to use

/ Which lubricant to use #1  

Isoroku

I'm a newbie to this forum and owning tractors although I've been browsing this site for about six months since acquiring an old Ford 1700 farm tractor. I'm pretty much a neophyte when it comes to matters of tractor mechanics, hydraulics, and lubrication although I've been trying to educate myself through this forum. That being said, I have a very basic question that seems to me should be very simple but the more I read on this forum and the service manuals the more confused I get. I want to top off the transmission/hydraulic fluid in my tractor - the original owner's pamphlet says to use M2C134A, the Ford service manual for this model says to use SAE 80 - obviously neither are available at your local Walmart. An Internet search of M2C134A produces a lot of technical sites but also an ad from TSC which it sounds like quite a few of those on this forum buy from - they have "Traveller Universal Tractor Transmission/Hydraulic Fluid" on sale but no specifications assuring me that this is really what I want. Also on the Internet is "Lucas Universal Hydraulic Fluid" advertised, "compatible to Ford/New Holland M2C134A", but it sounds more like straight hydraulic fluid by description and they talk of its use with automatic transmissions. Help! Surely it can't be this difficult to top off some fluid! My apologies to the fact that I am sure that this question has been addressed multiple times - I really have been studying the Lubricants and Hydraulics Forums so as not to be so redundant. Thanks for any help.

/ Which lubricant to use #2  
If you look at hyd fluids at TSC, Walmart or where ever they will have a listing of specificationss that it meets on the jug or bucket. There are several that meet the 134 spec.

/ Which lubricant to use #3  
Something just doesn't sound right. Hydraulic fluid vs. SAE 80?:confused:

/ Which lubricant to use #4