Propane as Tractor fuel

/ Propane as Tractor fuel #1  

jaquetarr

Silver Member
Tractor
PoiwerTrac 2445
Gents,
Newbie here,
I did a search of this discussion line and did not find any reference to using Propane as fuel in tractors or small engines.
I remember on of my Uncles used Propane in his Ford tractor in the 50's - 60's. He was a big fan and was satisfied that due to the lack of combustion byproducts the engine wear was minimal and engine life extended. Oil always looked like it came from the can.

If anyone has Propane experience, I'd like to hear your story.
Rgds
tim

/ Propane as Tractor fuel #2  
Propane was big in the middle of the country in the 50 to late 70s. Im looking for a good 50 - 80 hp propane tractor in my area.
Nothing new sold.

/ Propane as Tractor fuel #3  
Propane was a fad back form the 30's to the 70's but when diesels got better they went by by. Propane has less btu's compared to gas so if a conversion was done you would lose about 15% of the power.

Chris

/ Propane as Tractor fuel #4  
I consider propane a sham around here. It wouldn't make any money-sense........ especially after paying all the hidden safety/delivery/maintainance/haz-mat/tank rental/etc/etc fees the propane companies charge.

/ Propane as Tractor fuel #6  
Not around here, but it shouldn't since it's a byproduct of other production processes.

/ Propane as Tractor fuel #7  
Propane's A LOT more dangerous to have around. I worked with it as a chemical engineer for 31 years. We either had it as a refrigerant or as a combined refrigerant and solvent in the whole plant. The stuff pools because it's heavier than air. Of course, the butane additive in gasoline is equally as dangerous because it will pool in low spots.

I remember our tractor running it in the 50s. Had A LOT more power when we switched back to gasoline when the propane tank ran out, as it didn't last that long. The tractor almost leaped into the air with all that new power.