Rotary mower greasing

/ Rotary mower greasing #1  

RWTschoeke

Tractor
2010 New Holland Boomer 3045
newbie here. Coming up to first 8 hrs. of use on my Woods Heritage HC72 rotary cutter and reccommended greasing of every 8 hrs to include tailwheel and PTO shaft universal joints. Is this routine maintenance able to be done with mower attached to tractor or do I need to disconnect PTO/remove shielding to get at universal joints and shaft junction? Was able to find zerk fittings on tailwheel and tailpin. And how about gearbox oil? Looks a little low but have read somewhere not to fill to top.

/ Rotary mower greasing #2  
newbie here. Coming up to first 8 hrs. of use on my Woods Heritage HC72 rotary cutter and reccommended greasing of every 8 hrs to include tailwheel and PTO shaft universal joints. Is this routine maintenance able to be done with mower attached to tractor or do I need to disconnect PTO/remove shielding to get at universal joints and shaft junction? Was able to find zerk fittings on tailwheel and tailpin. And how about gearbox oil? Looks a little low but have read somewhere not to fill to top.

Gearbox--generally 80W gear oil. There should be a hole on the top of the case with a pipe threaded plug--that's where you fill. On the side of the case there should be a smaller plug that you remove before starting the fill. Add oil until it starts to drain out of the side hole--then you're gearbox is filled to the correct level. Reinstall both plugs and tighten--but don't overdo it.

The zerks on the pto shaft U-joints should be accessable without removing the safety shield on the pto shaft. Sometimes that shield has holes to access those zerks. And sometimes the zerks are rotated out of position so you need to reposition them or switch to a different type of zerk with another angle.