Synthetic vs. Dino. By a Mechanic.

/ Synthetic vs. Dino. By a Mechanic. #1  

speedyspider2050

Bronze Member
Tractor
mitsubshi d2050fd
I have read many threads with people asking the ? Which oil type to use. I have been turning wrenches for a living for 37yrs. So hear is my personal experience with both oils. I rebuild approximately 3 to 5 engines a year. The engines I rebuild that run strictly Dino oil have what we call coking(Varnish build up) all throughout the engine, Heads, block and crank. I have yet to rebuild an engine due to oil failure. But the engines I rebuild that have run synthetic oil are very clean and no coking(varnish buildup) in any of the components. I rebuild both gas and diesel engines so this applies to both. I personally have rebuilt my own engines and run only synthetic in them. My diesel suburban and Mitsu D2050FD both get Mobil 1 5w-40 full synthetic turbo diesel oil. My other two gas engines run Mobil 1 5w-30 full synthetic oil. I also use Lucas synthetic oil stabilizer in all my engines as well. So from a mechanics stand point synthetic oils do have the advantage of keeping your engine internals cleaner than conventional dino oils. Hope this helps a few people make the decision to run the oil they want. As for the cost difference here is the basic math. Just a few figures thrown out here. Basic oil change with dino oil $30.00 to $40.00. Change every 3000 miles. so for 6000 miles next oil change you spend another $30.00 to $40.00 . Ok synthetic oil change runs roughly $45.00 to $55.00 and you change it every 6000 to 7500 miles depending on the driving conditions. So do the math. Synthetic is less money and in my opinion better for the engine. I personally have my oil analyzed and determine from that when to change my oil. But i never run more than 7500 miles before a change. As for my tractor I change it every 125hrs. Just my thought and experience with the two different oils. Not saying that dino oil is bad. Just saying that synthetic