using heating oil for fuel?

/ using heating oil for fuel? #1  

steve_niceguy

Tractor
Kubota L 3010 L 235 B 1750 Sears DGT 6000 and sears 18HP GT 14HP Economy
hi this is the second time I've posted this? first one got lost I guess
I'm buying a PTO Generator and getting rid of my 6500KW generator. it works well but the PTO Generator will run smoother on my diesel Kubota L 3010
I'm a oil burner tech/plumber and when I went to oil burner school they told us that diesel fuel and home heating oil are basicly the same it's so close that you can use it in deisel engines and never know.. because it's the same thing.... well maybe 99.9 % the same... they do add color so if they pull over a 18 wheeler they can put a stick in the tank and see if the trucker is using TAX FREE home heating oil.
I'm figuring I can run it in my tractor with no problems and everyone in my trade tells me the same thing.
it would be great in an emergency if I need fuel for the tractor pto generator to be able to pump it out of my home heating oil tank.
I'm always the cautous one and want to see if anyone else has done this and had no trouble??
I know they told me in school both are the same.. but I've been told lots of things from EXPERTS only to find they were WRONG

anyone ever use home heating oil in his tractor?

Thanks
Steve
I read all the posts the gas powered portable generators versus the PTO generators... and really feel the PTO is the way to go. the pto is 1200 watts! man that's a lot I could even run my stove on that! plus it would run the whole houe.. my 6500 does the oil fired furnice and a couple lights.. then I when I have the house up to 80 I turn off the furnice and run the oil fired water heater and the well and a light in my bathroom so I can shower. and that's really enough... but with the pto gen. I could just plug it in and forget it.