Oil Filter Question

/ Oil Filter Question #1  

CenturyGreg

Tractor
Century 2028 C-50HL FEL
I am looking to replace the factory oil filter on my Century 2028 with a Purolator filter. Neither Purolator, nor any other filter manufacturer was able to cross-reference the Century part number. I found a Purolator filter that is the same size, shape, etc. as the filter that is on the tractor, is there any reason why this filter should not be used on my tractor? Are there differences between diesel engine and gas engine filters, as I do not know what type of vehicle this Purolator filter is supposed to fit.

/ Oil Filter Question #2  
Dig harder! I have a master WIX catalog at work... tommorrow I'll try to see if it has your tractor in it. I've never came across anything that the master catalog didn't cross reference. If I come up with something I'll holler back at you.

/ Oil Filter Question #3  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( Are there differences between diesel engine and gas engine filters, as I do not know what type of vehicle this Purolator filter is supposed to fit.)</font>

Good question. Anyone? Gerard

/ Oil Filter Question #4  
Sorry Greg... I looked through a few catalogs at work this morning and I came up empty. There are name brands in there I've never heard of... but Century didn't make the cut. They were 2002 catalogs... maybe the 2005's will include Century. Anyway, just because the filter is the same size and the gasket is the same, I don't think I would trust it. It may have internal differences that the naked eye can't see. I would recommend getting filters from a dealer until you can cross reference to a quality name brand filter.

/ Oil Filter Question