Purolator vs Fram

/ Purolator vs Fram #1  

deerefan

Veteran Member
Tractor
1952 8N, 2005 JD 5103
I need some input, guys. I've been using Purolator filters on my Ford trucks for a couple years. Well, I can save my money by buying Castrol at Wal-Mart over Advance and not to mention time. Wal Mart carries Fram. Does anyone have some solid data on these filters? I'll switch to Fram if it is better but I have not had any problems with Purolator either. Thanks! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

/ Purolator vs Fram #2  
Deerefan,

Boy have you asked a loaded question! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

I have read lots of posts that say Fram filters are not very good. There are others who like the Purolator. Then there are those that don't. Eventually someone will post a link to a website where the guy opened up a bunch of filters to see how they were built. That does not tell you how well they filter though. But I guess one could assume that a well built filter will filter.

I just keep it simple and buy the Motorcraft brand oil filter. If there is a Mobil One filter I'll buy that since it makes me feel better. What I have been doing lately is just sending a note to my dealer with the filters I need. They mail them to me and I usually get them a day or two days after ordering. JD sells filters made by Fleetguard. I am running a JD oil filter made by Fleetguard on my Ford truck. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

My dealer can get me the filters I need and the shipping cost is minimal and worth every cent. It seems everytime I need a filter I end up running to a couple stores before I find what I need. The JD filters at my dealer are priced fairly. Some or a bit more some are a bit cheaper than store bought. It averages out price wise.

Later,
Dan

/ Purolator vs Fram #3