Equipment to do lawn restorations???

/ Equipment to do lawn restorations??? #1  

Patriot

I’ve been doing lawn repairs for over six years now, these repairs range from tire track damage caused by utility crews accessing homeowners properties to repair outages, to complete lawn restorations in which the old lawn needs to be completely removed and then hydro seeded, and everything else in between.

As far as the tire track damage goes, the best way I’ve found to repair it was to simply back into the tracks with my dump truck and shovel topsoil into the depressions as I work my way out to the street, then tamp or roll, rake, level and seed. But I can't always get in with the truck!

Ok, now I’m looking for a way to utilize a small compact tractor (or compact track loader) to make my job easier, especially when it comes to the really big jobs, including lawn restorations.

So my question to those of you that may do this type of work is; are you doing it the hard way like I am?, or have you found that the use of a tractor or skid steer gets the work done quicker with equally good or better results?

I’ve rented both compact tractors and track loaders (ASV RC-30) for the bigger jobs.
I experimented with york rakes, rototillers, and harley rakes to do lawn restorations.
The harley rake on the ASV worked well but to do a finish pass it needs to be done in reverse which is a pain, and setting it at a consistent depth to do the initial pass was a pain as well. I never tried a harley rake on a compact tractor, seems like it would work out better, but I need to keep the size of the equipment small and most tractors out there with enough pto power to turn a harley rake are just too big!

I’ve also seen other contractors in my area use a tiller to renovate an existing lawn, but it looked like crap when they where done!

So what do you use to do this type of work?

/ Equipment to do lawn restorations??? #2