New Guy, First Tractor

/ New Guy, First Tractor #1  

R-G

Bronze Member
Hello all, i picked up a "59" ford 801 for the main reason to use a brush hog and do some tilling. I have no experience running a tractor so there might be a few more questions later on.:) The fellow that sold it to me showed me the basic operations to use the pto and 3 point set up. I was looking it over and saw a small lever located just in front of the pto control shaft, looked it up in the manual that he gave me, and its for draft control. Can someone please explain what this is? I tryed doing a search but am not very familiar with this site yet, but i have heard of "draft control" here somewhere (wish i saved it)
This is a great site with lots of info i have already stumbled upon, so please forgive me if my question/s are "silly". :eek:

/ New Guy, First Tractor #2  
R-G said:
Hello all, i picked up a "59" ford 801 for the main reason to use a brush hog and do some tilling. I have no experience running a tractor so there might be a few more questions later on.:) The fellow that sold it to me showed me the basic operations to use the pto and 3 point set up. I was looking it over and saw a small lever located just in front of the pto control shaft, looked it up in the manual that he gave me, and its for draft control. Can someone please explain what this is? I tryed doing a search but am not very familiar with this site yet, but i have heard of "draft control" here somewhere (wish i saved it)
This is a great site with lots of info i have already stumbled upon, so please forgive me if my question/s are "silly". :eek:

This was a search for "draft control"

http://www.tractorbynet.com/forums/search.php?searchid=674632

/ New Guy, First Tractor #3  
Draft control is used to maintain working depth on ground engaging equipment. ie.. 1 or 2 bottom plows, cultivators, subsoilers.