Rotary cutter tailwheel digging in

/ Rotary cutter tailwheel digging in #1  

Z-Michigan

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kioti DK5010HS
I have been using my rotary cutter (LX6) for only a couple months now. On sod or areas that have not been disturbed in over a year it works fine. However, on areas that have a lot of bare dirt or were planted with grass this year, the tailwheel often digs in and rips up the dirt; sometimes it also rides at an angle from the direction of travel in the process. I have greased the tailwheel bearings and pivot fitting and both operate smoothly. The tailwheel is the solid hard rubber type (not laminated rubber pieces). This happens with any angle adjustment of the cutter deck that leaves the tailwheel even slightly touching the ground. Any suggestions for how to stop this scalping?

/ Rotary cutter tailwheel digging in #2  
Z-Michigan said:
I have been using my rotary cutter (LX6) for only a couple months now. On sod or areas that have not been disturbed in over a year it works fine. However, on areas that have a lot of bare dirt or were planted with grass this year, the tailwheel often digs in and rips up the dirt; sometimes it also rides at an angle from the direction of travel in the process. I have greased the tailwheel bearings and pivot fitting and both operate smoothly. The tailwheel is the solid hard rubber type (not laminated rubber pieces). This happens with any angle adjustment of the cutter deck that leaves the tailwheel even slightly touching the ground. Any suggestions for how to stop this scalping?
This is exactly the reason I am seeking a rotary cutter with two wheels... although for all I know I could merely be doubling the problem. :eek:

Dougster

/ Rotary cutter tailwheel digging in #3