Confused by the size

/ Confused by the size #1  

M31

Hi, I am the first time be an active user here. This is my the first post. Sametime, I am a brand new farmer too. Just bought a piece of land 36 acres orange county NY. 16 acres are drained muck land, others are trees.
Planning do vegetable and hardy nursery plants growing on 16 acres muck land. Also need spend time with trees, may be need enlarge an ATV trial (800 feet) to allow a truck pass. Clean some space among trees to build couple sheds or a small barn. But field work is major task to me in next five years.
Friends in tractorpoint.com give a lots of good suggestions. But I am confused with size and weight of tractors. within 20k budget, new compact tractor or big used one.The land like this muck land is very soft. I know to handle 16 acres is little too much for a less than 40HP tractors, but the over 100HP used tractor (close 8 tons) will be very easy to sink. Plus I am dummy on tractor repairing now. I prefer a new compact tractor with cab, with a FEL and 5' tiller, but afraid this dicision becomes mission impossible.:(
Any kinds of suggestions are appriciated.

/ Confused by the size #2  
welcome aboard!!!

my best advice would be to spend some time shopping. Visit the dealers in your area. Explain to them your intentions. They are the most qaulified to help you decide which size machine is right for you. Don't be afraid of used machines that are only a few years old. ALternatively, there may still be some attractive finacing options on new equipment. I encourage you to pay visits to your local dealers. Have fun and above all DO NOT RUSH your decision!!! :)

/ Confused by the size #3  
Lets see.. wet land... and not a wrench turner.

Hmm... If yuo really don't like greasey hands and don't like wrenching.. I'd say stay away from economy brands and oldies... IE stick to something with a warranty from the big 3.