brush hog wheel not working right

/ brush hog wheel not working right #1  

jasonwolfington

When I use my brush hog and make a turn, the rear wheel digs and slides on the ground instead of steering itself in the direction of the swinging shredder. The wheel doesn't have bearings in the pivot, but easily moves by hand and I don't know what I am doing wrong. The wheel works fine when I am mowing straight, but when I turn I have to raise the mower to turn.

Thanks for advice...I am a little new to tractors.

Jason

/ brush hog wheel not working right #2  
What brand of Brush hog do you have? My King Kutter does the same thing. The problem is the angle of the wheel support coupled with the poor fit of the shaft causes it to bind in there when you turn. It is just a poor design on my cutter. The Woods tail wheel sits more upright and works great.

/ brush hog wheel not working right #3  
jasonwolfington:

Welcome to TBN :D! All rotary cutters are a little bit different. Try shortening your top link slightly and try to get the rear wheel pivot shaft as verticle as possible. Grease the *&% out of it!. Keep the posts coming :). Just my $0.02- Jay

/ brush hog wheel not working right #4  
jbrumberg said:
Grease the *&% out of it!.
Jay's advice is exactly what I had done to my Woods cutter. Worked wonders. I suspect a bit of rust from sitting on the dealers lot was causing the binding. I had it pivoting well in no time.

/ brush hog wheel not working right #5  
Also agree with Jay's comments about greasing the tail wheel. You may even want to lift it off the ground (use blocks under the cutter sides), grease it and manually work it around some.
I had the same problem with a finishing mower spindle...turned out to be a bad zerk, BTW.

/ brush hog wheel not working right #6