Used tractor, 1st time tractor owner, tips?

/ Used tractor, 1st time tractor owner, tips? #1  

jfobel

Hi Folks,

I recently purchased a yanmar YM2000 and will receive the tractor w/ loader and shredder sometime this week. I purchased the tractor to mow, put down a gravel drive, and clean-up trees/brush. I have never owned a tractor before and would like to start off right. I am thinking of changing out:

1. Enginer Oil/Filter
2. Air Filter
3. Fuel Filter
4. Belt
5. Antifreeze
6. Grease zirk fittings

What other tips can you provide? I am new to tractors and want to start off good.

Thanks,

Jack

/ Used tractor, 1st time tractor owner, tips? #2  
I did the same thing that your doing. In addition I changed the hydraulic fluid / filters, and gear oil. I also took digital pics of the tractor, components along with pics of all the serial numbers for my file. Just in case of a theft, fire etc. Make sure you get the manuals and then stick to the maintenance checks and changes according to the manufacturers guidlines. Good luck and enjoy!

/ Used tractor, 1st time tractor owner, tips? #3  
jfobel said:
What other tips can you provide? I am new to tractors and want to start off good.

The best tip I can provide is to read as much of this site as possible. You cannot begin to fathom the amount of useful advise and information available on just about any topic.

Congrats on the tractor and welcome to TBN.

/ Used tractor, 1st time tractor owner, tips? #4  
Factory owner's manual, & factory service manual are, or should be IMHO, the first things you get.

/ Used tractor, 1st time tractor owner, tips? #5  
BE CAREFUL!!! Don't put yourself in awkward situations ,things happen pretty fast in the seat sometimes. Enjoy and expect lots of advice from the good folks on this site.

/ Used tractor, 1st time tractor owner, tips? #6