How do you break a FEL?

/ How do you break a FEL? #1  

Sniggle

Silver Member
Tractor
2003 Kubota B7800 (new to me @ 435 hours
Serious question...I have been working hard with my new to me tractor doing finish grading after a contractor and tracked CAT did the clearing. I am new to FEL's, so occasionally I will move the joystick the wrong way and lift the front end or take the bucket in at a too steep angle. I am just trying to understand the worst possible mistakes to make so I can avoid them.

/ How do you break a FEL? #2  
Don't ram at something on just one side. You can twist all kinds of things.

Don't tip the bucket all the way as though you are dumping it and then trying to use the vertical surface as a bulldozer with the cutting edge perpendicular to the ground and moving forward. Bad/expensive for hydraulic arms.

Backdragging is OK with less than a 30 degree angle. Front edge of blade on the ground and the rear edge of the bucket elevated 5-10" and moving in reverse only.

If you feel the tractor straining, stop what you are trying to do with the FEL. Back up a few inches and resume trying to lift/dig.

If you are digging, a toothbar will make your life easy and it will be easier on your tractor too.

/ How do you break a FEL? #3  
Sniggle said:
Serious question...I have been working hard with my new to me tractor doing finish grading after a contractor and tracked CAT did the clearing. I am new to FEL's, so occasionally I will move the joystick the wrong way and lift the front end or take the bucket in at a too steep angle. I am just trying to understand the worst possible mistakes to make so I can avoid them.