TODAYS SEAT TIME

/ TODAYS SEAT TIME #1,351  
Yesterday I managed to get about an hour of seat time (finally!).

The bucket was on so I used it to dig into a pile of slash and dirt.

I am still learning how to use the bucket, plus having a jumble of 4' to 7' small log chunks jumbled in amongst the dirt was just not very effective.

I also tried to see if backdragging the mulched debris with the bucket & tooth bar was more or less effective than the grapple. I did manange to clear some tractor trails, but the grapple is simply more effective.

So I changed it out. I discovered the hyd QD's are SO MUCH EASIER 2 handed :thumbsup:

So I learned a couple things, and made a little progress clearing the pasture space.

It was good enough. :D

Be well,
David

/ TODAYS SEAT TIME #1,352  
His error was ignoring the 2 inch tree in the way and attacking the 10 inch tree. Pushing over tree's with a tractor is doable. You just have to be very very careful. There are several dangers, Never push over dead trees, they always break off up higher and fall on your hood or your head. Never ram a tree, apply power slowly. Dont overdo it, by trying to push over too large a tree, and breaking or bending something. Push trees a couple of days after a rain, preferbly, so the upper soil is firm, but the roots are still in looser wetter soil. Look first for widomakers or dead branches liable to break off and fall on your head. But if you dont feel comfortable doing it don't do it. Now again his error was not removing the 2 inch tree and keeping his work area clean before he attacked the larger tree. Always clean your work area, as you clear land, never leave anything that your tractor has to work over, be that small trees, large rocks or holes. Clean and repair, then move forward for the next victim.
One advantage to pushing over trees is there is no stump left to deal with.

James K0UA