TODAYS SEAT TIME

/ TODAYS SEAT TIME #2,261  
View attachment 286304
Finished moving the stone wall from the middle of the property over to the border. I have a good two weeks of tractor time moving the rocks and cleaning up the debris from tree removal.
I picked up a 16' utility trailer. When I have a bunch of stuff to move, like your rocks, I simply load the trailer up and then pull that load with the tractor. I presume you are doing something similar?

Down here we simply prep the area, throw out some lime as the clay doesn't have enough, then seed with both winter rye and Kentucky 31 then cover with hand tossed or blown hay. Usually see grass sprigs within 1 week.

Hope that helps... dunno what your "soil" is like up there.

/ TODAYS SEAT TIME #2,262  
Gordon, Thanks for the road input. I've been fighting this same area for almost 3 years. There is a steep bank on the upper side. The road was cut perpendicular to this hill so the water runs off the wooded hill and needs to cross my road. I wanted a culvert but the road guy is adamant about not having one because I only get up there every month or so and he says that a culvert will plug up. He's tried "broad based dips"....which are working at gentler slope areas but not at this steep one. I recently filled the side ditches (water cut) and the crossing gullys with big ballast stone in the hopes that it will slow the racing water and do less washing out. The road guy wants to regrade and make the entire stretch slope down the hill, he thinks that allowing the water to cross along a 100' path would stop the problem. I don't like the idea of having a road slope towards the downhill side......if you slid sideways on ice you would go off the side of the road and down the hill....:hissyfit:

Attachments

• Road Wash III.jpg
    Road Wash III.jpg
    488.9 KB · Views: 241
   / TODAYS SEAT TIME #2,263