Plowing with a 30 Hp Compact tractor with or without FEL

/ Plowing with a 30 Hp Compact tractor with or without FEL #1  

Barneyhunts

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L4240 Kubota B7800, Kubota BX2200
Last year I plowed for the first time with my Kubota B7800 and I left the front end loader on while plowing. This year I'm planning to remove the FEL and hang 275# of weights on the front end in an effort to gain traction. Since I've never done this before I wonder if it will result in more traction for plowing and I'm asking for some input on this. My tractor has loaded AG-type tires and the plow is a 2 bottom 12" Howse.
Thanks!:rolleyes:

/ Plowing with a 30 Hp Compact tractor with or without FEL #2  
Sounds like your on the right track!

/ Plowing with a 30 Hp Compact tractor with or without FEL #3  
Put the 275# in the FEL bucket. Fill the rear tires with fluid add wheel weights.

jb

/ Plowing with a 30 Hp Compact tractor with or without FEL #4  
You'll probably just have to test it and see. But if the front weights aren't enough, just put the FEL back on.

It is really a pleasure to mow and or plow without the FEL on, you can see better. It is easier to get around in tight places, etc. Still, I've found that I like having the FEL on. It doesn't matter what I'm doing, there always seems to be something that I need to move out of the way with the FEL, so I just leave mine on all the time now. (Of course, I have no front wieghts. If I lucked into some cheap suitcase weights I might enjoy going without the FEL even more. As it is, even my 6 foot rotary cutter makes the front end light without the FEL.)

/ Plowing with a 30 Hp Compact tractor with or without FEL #5  
Barney.. does that machine have draft control?

soundguy

/ Plowing with a 30 Hp Compact tractor with or without FEL #6  
Dump the the three point hitch plow and get a drawbar pull type. It will make life much easier!:D :D :D

/ Plowing with a 30 Hp Compact tractor with or without FEL
Soundguy said: