plow troubles

/ plow troubles #1  

mao123

greetings folks,

I am a newbie farmer, so bear with me if this sounds like a real dumb question.

I borrowed a 2 bottom 3 point hitch type plow from a friend.
He told me he could never get it to work properly from the day he bought it.
But I was welcome to try it.

I only wanted to plow over a small area that was rough pasture, and eventually put some lawn in for my wife. The area is only about 2 acres.

Anyway, the problem I discovered is that the second or further back plow will not roll over the furrow. I can watch it attempt to roll, but after about 5-6 feet, the furrow falls back into its original spot. This is really making a mess!

The owner of this plow told me he had numerous old timer experts look at the plow. They tried many different adjustment, all to no avail.

I was hoping I might find some answers here, after reading some of the posts, it sounds like there is a lot of good knoweldgeable help out there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PS

I am not sure what type of plow this is, Turf or otherwise.

Regards Mike

/ plow troubles #2  
Any chance of getting a few pictures? One looking straight at the front. One straight on from the rear. And one from the side. Maybe a sprung beam. One or the other bottom not in proper alignment that way. Also, what speed are you trying to plow at? Too slow and the furrow slice will turn up on its edge, then flop back down "green side up". Also, is the plow level when in the ground? (front to rear) If the rear bottom isn't in the ground as far as the front, they'll turn the dirt quite differently.

And last. This one needs a keen eye or the pictures. I bought a plow several years ago where someone had taken a 2X12" plow and installed 16" bottoms. Rear bottom was only getting a partial cut. Dirt was sliding down the moldboard and not turning it. Turned out to be a parts plow....

/ plow troubles #3