Shibaura SL1643 REAL UNSTABLE, HELP

/ Shibaura SL1643 REAL UNSTABLE, HELP #1  

vettespeed

I'm a real tractor rookie and just wanted something small to do a little work around my .75 acres which is partially on a grade. I found a real nice Shibaura SL1643 (19hp, 1500 lbs, 4WD) w/loader that I thought would work nicely. I got it home and before I even got near the steepest area of the property I **** near tipped it over. It seems to have a loader that is a little too large for the tractor (5 ft. wide) which puts a lot of weight on the front tires along with the fact that the front differential pivots it wants to tip right over. Do these little grey market tractors only work well on level ground or do I need some ballast in back to improve weight distribution and get the weight on the back tires? Do some tractors not pivot at the front differentials? Are the modern Kubota type tractors with the squatty little tires have a much lower center of gravity and perform better for what I need to do? I was thinking about making a big concrete ballast to hang off the back of the 3pt hitch, how much should I make it weigh. Is there an ideal weight distribution I should shoot for (ex. 50/50 between front and back wheels)? Thanks, Mike.

/ Shibaura SL1643 REAL UNSTABLE, HELP #2  
You should probably start with loading all 4 of your tires and then making a concrete ballast for the rear. My 22 hp tractor only has a 4' loader and that is all it can handle. I am sure a 5' is too large to use on your tractor safely. Be sure to keep your loader as low as possible while moving your tractor and be extra careful on slopes and uneven surfaces.

/ Shibaura SL1643 REAL UNSTABLE, HELP