Advice on Moving Dirt with Kubota BX2230

/ Advice on Moving Dirt with Kubota BX2230 #1  

ky8t

Tractor
Kubota BX-2230
I have a Kubota BX2230 that I bought second hand (now with 50 hours on it). I have been trying to use it to landscape the yard at my new home and am not having much success. I have several questions that I hope someone can help me with. I am a real novice with this type of equipment and need the advice of some of you experienced tractor owners.

1. I have been trying to figure out how to check the hydraulic fluid, but I can find no information in the manual on that subject. It appears that the tractor uses the transmission fluid for that purpose. Is that correct?

2. When I scoop only a half load of dirt in my front end loader, it will not raise. How much dirt (or weight) should I be able to life in the FEL?

3. The lift for the three point hitch does not raise or lower linearly, making it difficult to adjust the height of the implement. It just slams down when the lever reaches a certain point. Should it be doing this? is there an adjustment for this?

4. The tractor came with turf tires, but when I use the FEL to move dirt, the tires do not grip well even in four wheel drive. I am thinking i need standard tractor tires for this purpose. How much will that help? I have looked for them on the Internet, but I do not see many available. Where can I find them? Or does anyone want to trade barred tires for turf tires?

5. Related to #4, I am thinking of buying a box blade to landscape my yard. However, I don't want to buy the blade and then find that the tractor does not have the traction or power to pull the blade through the fairly hard ground on my property. I'd be better off hiring someone to do it. Can the BX2230 handle a 5' box blace? Tractor supply has one made my King Kutter.

Lee
Huntsville, TX

/ Advice on Moving Dirt with Kubota BX2230 #2