PTO Shaft

/ PTO Shaft #1  

tdenny

Platinum Member
Tractor
JD 855 4WD, HST
This is going to sound like a really silly question but I am an admitted tractor rookie so I'll ask the question anyway. I just bought my JD 855 and it came with a couple of attachments - brush hog, and tiller. I haven't gotten much seat time yet but I do understand the basics.

The question is this:

When I attach the brush hog - the 3PH is no problem and I see where the PTO shaft goes. What keeps the PTO shaft on attached to the tractor. I haven't actually tried sliding the shaft on yet but I don't see anything that would keep it seated in place. Any thoughts - go easy on me.

/ PTO Shaft #2  
Hey, no such thing as a bad question right! If you look at your PTO shaft coming out of your tractor you'll see the splines running along it's length and a groove all the way around it. On the implement shaft there will be some feature that will latch on to that groove. They vary, but I've seen push buttons and sliding collars on the yoke. Whatever the case, there will be something to grab that groove. Before you hook it up, take a look so you won't be frustrated when it comes time to remove it /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

/ PTO Shaft
Rob,

I did in fact, see such an item on my brush hog but it seemed to be locked or should I say rusted in the position it now holds. I was assuming it was intended just for the purpose you mentioned. I have sprayed it and oiled it etc, so I am sure it will do the trick with a little TLC.

Thanks - I was pretty sure that was its intended purpose. Now I just have to start hoggin. Can't wait.

/ PTO Shaft #4  
I haven't actually tried sliding the shaft on yet but I don't see anything that would keep it seated in place. Any thoughts - go easy on me.