Ballast Filling tires

/ Filling tires #1  

TomOfTarsus

Silver Member
Tractor
1999 New Holland TC18 HST
I don't know why, but the search didn't work. So just a quickie. Conventional wisdom, when filling tires with calcium chloride, is to put tubes in so as to prevent rusting your rims out, correct?

And how do you know the shop made up the correct solution? I'm new at this, the shop is new to me, and they haven't exactly covered themselves with glory so far.

Glad to be back,

Tom

/ Filling tires #2  
I used a mixture of used antifreeze and windshield washer fluid without a inner tube.

/ Filling tires
Yeah, I was going to, but the antifreeze would've cost me just as much AND required me going to get, so I said just go ahead and put tubes and CC in 'em.

/ Filling tires #4  
First of all I would not recommend calcium chloride. I would go with either rim guard, windshield washer fluid, water/antifreeze, beet juice, or something that is not corrosive. Now I have heard that you can put the CC in tubes or tubless just have the fluid cover the rim completely. If the rim is fully sumerged in the CC it will not rust or at least prolong the rusting. This is what I have heard not sure though. My old ford 8N had the CC in tubes on the rear and the valve eventually started leaking and the rims started rusting through. This took all of 15 years to do but they eventually have to be replaced. Its not my problem now becuase I sold it but I warned the no owner of it and recommended when he changed it to put rim guard in it.

/ Filling tires #6  
I dont know what size tires you have but mine are a bit larger and I just called 2 days ago and it is going to cost me $192 a tire which I thought wasn't bad.

/ Filling tires