Does antifreeze have a shelf life?

/ Does antifreeze have a shelf life? #1  

ccsial

Veteran Member
Tractor
(Kuboto L3400) (Ford 1900 4WD w/FEL) (Deere X748SE) All bought new
I have 4 gallons of un-opened antifreeze about five years old. There is no date code on the containers. I would think it is fine but I wonder if that is true. Anyone know for sure?

/ Does antifreeze have a shelf life? #2  
What a great question. I have heard a six month or one year shelf life but couldn't find anyone with first-hand experience. Didn't know if that meant sealed or open containers or even if true or false.
Someone here will know these answers.

/ Does antifreeze have a shelf life? #3  
I'm gonna throw this out here, not because I really know, but from a common sense point. You leave it in your vehicle for years... right? just check the SG every fall... Sounds reasonable...

/ Does antifreeze have a shelf life? #4  
I'm a retired chemical engineer. I don't see any reason why the antifreeze should go bad.

Ralph

/ Does antifreeze have a shelf life? #5  
A sealed container of antifreeze will be good. Opened may go bad at some point

jb

/ Does antifreeze have a shelf life? #6  
If you bought it its still good. Passing it on to future generations may be an issue.
larry

/ Does antifreeze have a shelf life? #7  
Auto parts stores sell "anti-rust and water pump lubricant" in about a 12 oz container. It might not hurt to add one of these to a gallon.

I don't think the glycol would go bad, but some of the additives might have a shelf life.

/ Does antifreeze have a shelf life? #8  
"What is the shelf life of Prestoneョ Antifreeze/Coolant?
A. If the product is still in the original sealed container then it has a shelf life of many years. If the product has been opened and has not been diluted with water then it also has a shelf life of many years."
From the Prestone website
regards

/ Does antifreeze have a shelf life? #9