position control

/ position control #1  

cchoate

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota GL3430 HST
Ok, I'm new to some of the terms - what's position control?

/ position control #2  
cchoate,
I'll try to describe position control in layman's terms...

Without position control, the 3-point lift mechanism has "UP" and "DOWN" control of the lift arms which allows the operator to position 3-point equipment at whatever point the lift mechanism lever is released (full up, full down, or anywhere in-between). Once you depart from a known setting (a desired mowing height, for example) you may have trouble finding that exact height again. Additionally, it is possibly that the 3-point equipment may creep down from an desired setting.

With position control, the lift mechanism arm has a range of numbers (say 1 to 8) that represents full up, full down, and intermediate positions. Once you depart from a know setting (setting 4, for example), you can return to that same setting and the lift mechanism will keep it there for you.

Now when it comes to the next feature, DRAFT control, I'd have to refer you to a post on this board about 2 or 3 years ago that had an excellent description of both draft and position control. I have a copy somewhere...

Kelvin

/ position control #3  
On my New Holland you use position control to consitently lower the 3-point hitch to the same height (relative to the tractor) everytime. It is just a simple locking device that you can move to any position, lock it, and then you can lower your 3-point lever to that same spot everytime. I have attached a picture of the position control on my NH as seen from below. I took the picture while I had the tire and fender cover off to install my rear remote.

Attachments

• 47-152704-Position_Control.jpg
    47-152704-Position_Control.jpg
    118.5 KB · Views: 109
   / position control #4  
We'll probably give you enough explanations here to throw you into total confusion, cchoate. /w3tcompact/icons/laugh.gif