Mowing ?? regarding mowing on sidehills...

/ ?? regarding mowing on sidehills... #1  

FN in MT

Bronze Member
I've got a new Kubota B2620 with a WOODS 5' rotary mower and a FEL for wt in frt. I mow in 4x4 and as I'm fairly new to the tractor thing...I'm VERY careful.....probably over cautious...hence the question.

I've got several mildly hilly area where the buckbrush (2' tall easy to chop up bushes) has grown down onto the flat areas. I've walked the area removing any rocks and looking for any obstacles or potential danger spots.

This evening I went up and easily mowed the flat or mild sidehills in LOW range, 4x4 being cautious of any gopher holes, etc.

I found that by backing the mower up into the brush on the hills I could easily mow without any concern or drama. The angle would be FAR too severe to mow any other way other than maybe heading UP, then backing down.

Is backing into these bushes OK?? Or should I take these hills head on...then back down?? Traction doesn't seem to be an issue...dry ground right now. And the qualiity of the cut seems to be fine as well.

Sorry for such a basic question .....but I'm new to all this and screwing up isn't an option.

FN in MT:D

/ ?? regarding mowing on sidehills... #2  
I have some pastures that I have to back down when mowing. The first year I did it, I ended up with a stiff neck that lasted several days :eek:

In one area, I've filled in the bottom with dirt to make a trail and a flat place to turn around. That makes it easier.

Ken

/ ?? regarding mowing on sidehills... #3