Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default ford 851 problems

I have a ford 851 powermaster with a 5 speed tranny. I noticed yesterday that it seems to have lost some power to the rear wheels. I was trying to go up a steep hill yesterday and could barelyy make it up in 1st gear. When I am running a brushcutter the tractor can barely go through anything. The motor cranks and runs fine. Any ideas? Thanks.

Veteran Member
    Kansas, Butler county, Just east of DooDah
    Tractor
    Kubota L4200 GSTCA

Default Re: ford 851 problems

Something is interfering with either fuel or air delivery. Check and clean the filters first. KennyV.

Tractor
    Kubota L3750

I am with KennyV on checking out your air and fuel filters. These tractors suck in a lot of air to run.. I was working on a customers tree job the other day and his big Stihl chainsaw was running fast. He ask me if he should take it into the shop? I told him to check the airfilter first. After he opened it up you couldn't see the airfilter because there was so much crud on it. I try to clean the airfilter on my saws every other fill up. I can't say that I do that with my tractor although it wouldn't be a bad idea.
    1st Peter 1:6-9

I'm not quite sure I understand your post, it sounds like the engine is running fine. I assume that means it runs fine going up the hill, and brush mowing, not bogging or sputtering. If that is true then I would think the clutch may be slipping, either out of adjustment or needs replacing. If the tractor is cutting out or bogging, then a fuel or filter problem.

Platinum Member
    Tractor
    B3030

If the engine is running fine then it has to be the clutch. On a 851 the PTO is also run by the same clutch that turns the transmission. A worn cluth on a gear drive tractor is not uncommon.

Tractor
    BX24

yep, if the motor maintains rpms, it's the clutch.