ford 851 problems

/ ford 851 problems #1  

bcnla

I have a ford 851 powermaster with a 5 speed tranny. I noticed yesterday that it seems to have lost some power to the rear wheels. I was trying to go up a steep hill yesterday and could barelyy make it up in 1st gear. When I am running a brushcutter the tractor can barely go through anything. The motor cranks and runs fine. Any ideas? Thanks.

/ ford 851 problems #3  
I am with KennyV on checking out your air and fuel filters. These tractors suck in a lot of air to run.. I was working on a customers tree job the other day and his big Stihl chainsaw was running fast. He ask me if he should take it into the shop? I told him to check the airfilter first. After he opened it up you couldn't see the airfilter because there was so much crud on it. I try to clean the airfilter on my saws every other fill up. I can't say that I do that with my tractor although it wouldn't be a bad idea.

/ ford 851 problems #4  
I'm not quite sure I understand your post, it sounds like the engine is running fine. I assume that means it runs fine going up the hill, and brush mowing, not bogging or sputtering. If that is true then I would think the clutch may be slipping, either out of adjustment or needs replacing. If the tractor is cutting out or bogging, then a fuel or filter problem.

/ ford 851 problems #5  
If the engine is running fine then it has to be the clutch. On a 851 the PTO is also run by the same clutch that turns the transmission. A worn cluth on a gear drive tractor is not uncommon.

/ ford 851 problems #6  
yep, if the motor maintains rpms, it's the clutch.

on the other hand, if the motor bogs down, the rpms drop and there just isn't any power, check: air filters, clean and lube governor advance parts and distributor advance, check over spark system and fuel system. if nothing seems obvious, try a compression check.