Leveling a Field

/ Leveling a Field #1  

Farm.E.R

I have about 12 acres that I will be leveling over time. Initially, I want to level about 1.5 acres to flood irrigate... to leach out some salt. The land is relatively flat but in no-way could I flood it. I am new to this world...

I have a NH TC30... front end loader, 60" box scraper, 72" rock rake, post-hole auger, three point boom, middle buster, forks.

Are there any good books for novice wanna-bee farmers?

farmER

/ Leveling a Field #2  
I think you are going to have a very difficult time getting acre sized areas perfectly flat. The best approach is a bulldozer with a laser system.

I tried leveling the area out for a new barn, 48x62. I probably got it within a few inches. The contractor then came in with his dozer and laser and finished it off. Trying to do bigger areas would be even tougher unless you are going to have a foot or two of water to flood it with.

Ken

/ Leveling a Field #3  
I would first see if there is a Cooperative Extension office in your county and talk to the agricultural person about what works in your area. You can read what you want but it might not apply to your area. What area are you from?

/ Leveling a Field #4  
I have about 12 acres that I will be leveling over time. Initially, I want to level about 1.5 acres to flood irrigate... to leach out some salt. The land is relatively flat but in no-way could I flood it. I am new to this world...

I have a NH TC30... front end loader, 60" box scraper, 72" rock rake, post-hole auger, three point boom, middle buster, forks.

Are there any good books for novice wanna-bee farmers?

farmER

My neighbor flood irrigates three 10-acre alfalfa fields. To get these properly leveled and sloped, he uses a D-7 Cat and a 10-ft wide laser-controlled scraper. It's a big job.

First, he used an IH 4366 tractor and a multi-shank ripper to break up the hardpan down to 18-24 inches depth.

DSCF0052 (Small).JPG