Cost of Clearing Farm Land of Hedge Trees?

/ Cost of Clearing Farm Land of Hedge Trees? #1  

Anegada12

Hi!!

Just found this site so I may not be posting in the right spot...just let me know.

We have a good size fgrain arm in Western Illinois and have about 100 acres that used to be pasture that is really overgrown with Hedge Trees. We want to start clearing the land and farm it (corn/soybeans). Any idea what it would cost/acre to hire a dozer to clear it?

I am also wanting to find out info on my other option...which is...I have a lot of time on my hands, so I was thinking of buying a dozer, OR leasing a dozer, and clear it myself...maybe 30 acres per year. I know...granted they say a good dozer operator is worth the money...BUT...I have all the time in the world and want to keep the money in my pocket, so even if I am not good at dozing compared to others (after having spent my life running equipment and after doing a 100 acres, I should get some good skills built up).

Being a farmer, I can write off the cost of the lease on my taxes.

What would be the cost to lease a dozer? Do you think a root rake would be the best over a straight blade? What size dozer...D-6...D-7? How long do you think it would take to clear 30acres...or roughly how many acres per hour. These are mature hedge and I need to get them root and all out and can just push them into a ravine and don't have to bury or stack them very well.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!!

/ Cost of Clearing Farm Land of Hedge Trees? #2  
Bigger Dozer usually always works a little faster. Are you gonna get a big disk for after the hedge trees are out.

Or could a big disk munch up the hedge trees.:confused::confused:

/ Cost of Clearing Farm Land of Hedge Trees? #3