Oil & Fuel Chevron Delo 400 LE oil

/ Chevron Delo 400 LE oil #1  

westbrooklawn

Platinum Member
Tractor
kubota L3400HST
In searching for information on diesel oil there were several threads about Rotella, Mobil, and Amsoil, but I found nothing on Chevron Delo 400 LE 15w-40, which is API rated CJ-4. Costco sells this oil for $62 for 6 gallons... does anyone have any experience or knowledge of how this oil performs?

Last edited:
   / Chevron Delo 400 LE oil #2  
I have been using Chevron Delo 400 oil for the last twenty years or so with good results. I use it for all of my diesel engines, this is a top quality product. The current 15w 40 is a good choice for moderate climates.

Thats a good price too!

/ Chevron Delo 400 LE oil
The price is what really caught my attention also... that is why I thought it warranted some more info. I have always bought Kubota oil or Rotella, but at slightly over $2.50 a quart, I am going to stock up on the Delo if I can determine that it is a quality oil. Apparently the "LE" (low emission), is a newer version of the Delo 400. It supposedly is backwards compatible with previous API standards.

/ Chevron Delo 400 LE oil #4  
I have never heard anything bad about it. I personally use Delvac but would not hesitate to change over to Delo. Many of the Ford Powerstroke guys around here use it.

While the price is fair its not great. My local hardware carries the Delvac for $8.99 about once a month on sale and they have Rotella for about the same. Both are usually $10 per gallon.

Chris

/ Chevron Delo 400 LE oil #5