Sizing an inline fuse

/ Sizing an inline fuse #1  

gobbler

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota BX1800
Ok guys, how does one size a fuse for a particular application. I've got a sprayer w/ a pump that pulls 7amps. I'm wiring up a switch and want to put in an inline fuse. How do you decide what size fuse you should use ???

Jim

/ Sizing an inline fuse #2  
gobbler,

i'm no expert....but in general, the fuse is sized to protect the wiring not the load device. for example a # 14 wire can handle about 15 amps...so you'd want a 15 amp fuse on that wire even if the load is only 7.0 amps. this way, if there is a short, the fuse will blow before the wire heats up enough to burn up !!

for your application, i'd run a # 12 wire ( bigger is better !! ) and start with a 10 amp fuse. if the fuse blows, i'd step up to a 15 amp. you're still safe with that wire size up to 20 amps. slow blow fuses are good for motor loads to help tolerate the high inrush amperage when the motor starts.

good luck !!

/ Sizing an inline fuse #3  
gobbler,

In the Engineering world:
Keep in mind that an electric motor draws more current on startup. In some cases a lot more current for a very short period of time. Also if you stall the motor it will draw more current. So the ideal way to go about this would be to look at the motor and see if it specs a max or peak current in adition to the contious operating current which is the 7 amps.
You could then use a fuse that is rated just slightly over that max or peak current. If the number is not on the motor then the manufacturer could tell you the details.

In the real world:
Start with a 7 amp. Since the start current is so short in duration you won't need a 15 amp fuse. So start with the 7 amp and if that blows slowly increase it by 1-2 amp increments until it does not blow.

Also if you use a slow blow fuse, it would be less sensative to the current spikes of startup and still provide protection, just not as sensative protection.