You guys have me worried

/ You guys have me worried #1  

dhvd79a

I have 5 acres that I mow with a JD260 with a 48"MMM. It takes around 3 hours to mow if I mow once a week. I have been considering a CUT for the past two years mostly because I would like to cut down on the time it takes me to mow but also because of the other users(FEL, Box Blade,etc).

I have read several posts here referencing taking 45mins/acre to mow. If that is true then I'll keep th JD260 and just rent when I need do other chores.

Comments please.

Dave

/ You guys have me worried #2  
Good point..but just think of al the fun you shall be missing in the seat,also getting those jobs done for your wife./w3tcompact/icons/wink.gif

/ You guys have me worried #3  
You must be flying to cut 5 acres. in 3 hrs. with a 48" mower! It takes me about 2 1/2 hours to cut my 5 acres with a 72" MMM. and I know that it takes my neighbor over 4 hrs with his 50" JD to cut his 5 acres. Are you sure of the time and the amount of land you are cutting? I guess if you have a flat field with no trees and the ground is super smooth you could go that fast, but I sure can't!

/ You guys have me worried #4  
Lets do the math:

neglect efficiency for now.

5 acres = 200,000 sq ft

/ 3 hours = 66,6667 sq/hour

/ 4 ft per pass = 16,667 ft/hour

/5280 ft per mile = 3.15 MPH

3.15MPH = your "effective speed" you are actually going faster, but this takes into account any overlap on each pass + time to turn around trees etc.

Assume same effective speed, do the math in reverse

60" deck = 2.4 hours or 1/2 hour per acre

72" deck = 2 hours or 24 minutes per acres

/ You guys have me worried #5  
Used to take me 3 hours to mow 2.5 acres with a 48" mower on a 5 mph Yardman. /w3tcompact/icons/sad.gif Now I cruise on a 60" Gravely at 9mph. I cut all of the 2.5 acres in 50 minutes to an hour /w3tcompact/icons/grin.gif

It's all in how wide you mow and how fast you go (poetry)

/ You guys have me worried #6