Fluid in front tires?

/ Fluid in front tires? #1  

bilrus61

Platinum Member
Tractor
kubota 4200
My incomming Kubota L5040 has 9.5-16 tires. The Rimguard website shows that it would add about 125 pounds per tire if filled with Rimguard. Thats considerable. 250 pounds total way out front would certainly keep my front end solid on the ground even with a heavy mower on the back. What is the bad side of filling the small front tires? A rougher ride I would guess. Anything else??

/ Fluid in front tires? #2  
I don't have any experience with Rimgaurd. But, I can share my experience with foam filled front tires. I was a mechanic for a landscape contractor for 8 years. We foam filled all of our front tires including our Kubota M6040 that we used as a grading tractor, plus half a dozen B2710's. We also had a few New Holland TC55's and TC33's, and 2 case 570LXT's. I would consider solid foam filling to be much harsher on parts than liquid ballast could be. And I never noticed any acceleration in parts attrition except on the Cases. After having the fronts recapped a few times the centers would bust out of the wheels.

Brian

/ Fluid in front tires? #3  
I don't have any experience with Rimgaurd. But, I can share my experience with foam filled front tires. I was a mechanic for a landscape contractor for 8 years. We foam filled all of our front tires including our Kubota M6040 that we used as a grading tractor, plus half a dozen B2710's. We also had a few New Holland TC55's and TC33's, and 2 case 570LXT's. I would consider solid foam filling to be much harsher on parts than liquid ballast could be. And I never noticed any acceleration in parts attrition except on the Cases. After having the fronts recapped a few times the centers would bust out of the wheels.

Brian

What kind of foam did you use?

/ Fluid in front tires? #4  
Maybe if you didn't have a FEL then loaded fronts would be OK. It sounds like that is your situation.