Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Bronze Member
    Tractor
    Kubota 4610

Default Grease Zirc problem

On my backhoe I have a grease zirc that doesn't seem to want to take grease. I have a hand pump grease gun and when I put it on this particular zirc I can't seem to pump grease into it. Also when I try to remove the grease gun nozzle it is extremely difficult to remove it. This only happens on this one zirc. I'm pretty new at this so I'm not sure what to do. Any help would be appreciated.

Super Star Member
    Tractor
    JD 4300, JD X485 JD 4x2 Gator, JD 425, JD455

Default Re: Grease Zirc problem

There may be something in the zirc, or the zirc is damaged in some way (this might be why the hose won't come off). If mine, I would replace the zirc with a new one.

Tractor
    2004 New Holland TN70DA with 32LC loader, 2000 New Holland 2120 with Curtis cab, 7309 loader

You may have pressure on the "joint" your are trying to grease. I know on my hoe I have a hard time greasing my upper pivot (for swinging) joint. Also some times the zirc may be plugged. By adding some heat (slightly) you might be able to un plug it. But if the zirc is easy to get at remove it and stick it into the gun and see if it will flow grease. If it doesn't you may have a plugged/bad zirc.

Tractor
    John Deere 4400 MFWD, Deere 855D UTV, Z920A Zero Turn Mower and assorted implements

It's probably dried grease in the Zerk fitting passage. The fitting is pretty easy to remove, so take it off and try a little solvent. Or, you can just replace the fitting.

These fittings aren't particularly robust. As they aren't that expensive, it probably wouldn't hurt to keep a dozen on hand.

A gentle little tap on the ball will most times "un-stick" it.

Jerry

Tractor
    JD 750 (first was '62 AC D-12 w/ factory 3pt.)