Problems using our flail mower.

/ Problems using our flail mower. #1  

ukjim

Hi everyone, newbie here from the UK.

We have approx 5 acres of field, with a small orchard (less than half and acre in the middle).

We have a kubota 7100 tractor with a flail mower attachment.

The problem we are having is that the flail mower seems to just flatten the grass not cut it. Thw tractor does have wide turf tyres on which flattens the grass down a bit as you go over it/before the mower gets to it - would this be an issue?

It rips up a little bit of grass but not much. We are using it in high/normal range, 1st gear, and the pto in the slowest setting (1).

All that happens is it rolls the majority of the grass flat and rips up a few strands. We want a close cut.

The grass is approx 6"-12" tall, with a few weeds but not many.

The flail mower is "well used" and fairly rusty. Would we be better with a finishing mower/topper or just a new flail mower - or are we using it wrongly.

Thanks for your time.
Jim

/ Problems using our flail mower. #2  
If he doesn't respond, check with leonz as he knows all about flail mowers. He has been very helpful to me on different subjects.

/ Problems using our flail mower. #3  
Sometimes in really thick grass with my John Deere 25a flail, the belt will start to slip and all it does is lay the grass down. You might check to make sure the belt is tight.

You mention that you have the pto in the slowest setting, looking your tractor up on tractor data, I see it has three settings. 514, 786, and 1498. What type of flail are you using? You need to make sure that the rated speed for the gearbox is the speed you're using on your pto setting. If you're turning the pto at a lower speed than the flail is designed for, it certainly won't cut as well.

Last thing I can think of is knives. What kind of knives are you using and what shape are they in? Are any missing?

/ Problems using our flail mower. #4