Diesel Tractor, Hot hot is too hot? Im a newbie

/ Diesel Tractor, Hot hot is too hot? Im a newbie #1  

knightrider955

Silver Member
Tractor
Long 560
I just got my first tractor. Its a Long 560 55hp diesel. The temp guage dont work so Im gonns put a new one on it. What temp is a normal temp for it to run at? And what temp is too hot? When it runs the water in the bottom of the radiator is always cool and the water in the top of the radiator is just warm. Mabe the thermostat isnt opening all the way?? Can I run it without a thermostat? Also it has a dummy light for low oil as pressure? Can I put a oil pressure guage on it? The motor in it is brand new (I have reciepts for all the parts) Is there a break in period I should follow? Im not sure the guy knew what he was doing but it does run good.

/ Diesel Tractor, Hot hot is too hot? Im a newbie #2  
I would think 180 to 200 would be normal. If it doesn't have a pressure cap on the radiator 212 would bee too hot.

/ Diesel Tractor, Hot hot is too hot? Im a newbie #3  
The engine will or should run close to the thermostat temp (whatever the manufacturer recommends there) and it should always be run with one, engine wear and noise is accelerated by cool running you want heat in the engine.

Diesels are notorious for not building heat very quickly so it may not even get to thermostat temp until its worked a little. hth

/ Diesel Tractor, Hot hot is too hot? Im a newbie
Well I pulled the upper radiator hose off right above the thermostat and started the tractor and let it idle for 15 minutes. Thermostst didnt open. So maybe its just cold blooded?? Its 65 degrees outside today. Im gonna still put a gauge in but maybe Im just worrying too much. I did see that while it was running, there was bubbling and diesel leaking around one of the injectors where it goes into the head. Maybe it needs a seal?? Any input would be helpful.

/ Diesel Tractor, Hot hot is too hot? Im a newbie #5