7# Isn't Enough

/ 7# Isn't Enough #1  

chim

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L4240, Ford 1210
7# Isn\'t Enough

Just took a break for lunch and a cup of coffee. I was using the rotary mower this AM, and thought I broke the Kubota. The terrain was a bit rough, and the front of the mower dug into the dirt a few times. At one point, the tractor refused to move much at all. I was in 2WD, and it felt like a rear tire was spinning, but it wasn't. I looked things over and noticed something wet on the inside of the left tire. Figured "oops, hit something with a hydraulic line". Upon closer inspection, the liquid was coming FROM the tire. The tire was noticeably low, so I put it in 4WD, limped back to the house, and pumped the rears up to 15# to finish. All was OK, and I lowered the pressure to 10# when done with the rotary mower. It just rides so much better, I'll jack up the pressure when I bushhog again or dig hard.

I had been running 7# for several months without incident, but when the mower grabbed Mother Earth, the strain was enough to spin the rim inside the tire.

OK, enough - gotta get back out there......................chim

/ 7# Isn't Enough #2  
Re: 7# Isn\'t Enough

I always heard eight is enough? /w3tcompact/icons/laugh.gif

/ 7# Isn't Enough #3  

BIG DAVE : with that last post u are showing your age!/w3tcompact/icons/laugh.gif

/ 7# Isn't Enough #4  

You weren't screwed Chim.

What I mean is when I used to race hot stock I'd drop the pressure way down for the heats. Most guys would think they're tires were running low pressure when they hit the mid teens. I'd run eight to ten, sometimes six, especially in the left rear.

We weren't allowed bead lockers. So I ran tek screws. Hard on tires, messed up the rim for any other use, but man it did help. Come out of one or three and just pull away while everyone else was a spinning like in a cartoon.