Tires Fluid Filled Tires Pump or Gravity

/ Fluid Filled Tires Pump or Gravity #1  

NY_Yankees_Fan

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota BX 2200
OK caught the blue light special at K-Mart for windshield washer fluid and will fill the tires this weekend. Since I have never done this before, I need a little help. I got the adapter to connect the tire to the garden hose. I have to add 8-10 gallons per tire. Should I by a pump for my drill and use that or save $$ and just use a funnel and gravity? How long do you figure it will take to put 10 gallons in a tire via gravity???

Thanks

Tom

/ Fluid Filled Tires Pump or Gravity #2  
Hi,

I had good luck with a drill pump. Did my garden tractor tires first...then the my 12.4x16 tires on the back of my Kubota B2910. The pump is MUCH faster than gravity.

There is a thread Here</font color=blue> that may answer a lot of questions...

Hope this works!

Bill in Pgh, PA

/ Fluid Filled Tires Pump or Gravity #3  
Go with the pump. One problem with gravity is overcoming the pressure created in the tire by the fluid displacing the air. I saw a funnel setup here somewhere, so mebbe that guy figured it out. To overcome a pressure buildup of 3#, you'd need a hose extending nearly 7' above the valve stem, and then it would trickle in.

As you proceed, the tire needs to "burp" air periodically. I used a drill pump along with a fitting I bought at TSC. The fitting has a pushbutton to vent the built-up air. The nice thing about the drill pump is it would build a few pounds pressure, and not having a check valve, would allow the air in the tire to push the liquid back in the hose when I stopped the pump. This allowed me to push the relief button and only get a few drops of liquid spitting out.