Pulling with 3pt, power, ability.

/ Pulling with 3pt, power, ability. #1  

VroomVroom

Veteran Member
Tractor
Mahindra 2816 HST, Super M farmall, J5 bombardier, 230 timber jack skidder
Just wondering what type of loads people have pulled on their tractors. I have a farmall M, and a mahindra 2816. I have pulled much firewood with the farmall and know it can pull quiet well, but have little experience with the mahindra. What could I expect to pull with this tractor. And has anyone damaged their 3pt in any fashion pulling too much, as I have no experience with the 3pt.

/ Pulling with 3pt, power, ability. #2  
The 3pt hitch was designed to pull ground engaging equipment, so you shouldn't need to worry about damaging any of the 3pt hardware as long as the hardware was well designed. This is true if you are pulling and not pushing with it, as the hitches are weaker when pushing. You may want to search on the subject of pulling with the drawbar, and why that is the prefered method for certain types of work.
-Jim

/ Pulling with 3pt, power, ability. #3  
With the 2816, you will almost certainly loose traction (spin wheels) before you damage your 3ph. As long as the load is centered the 3ph is designed to handle a pulling load.

/ Pulling with 3pt, power, ability. #4  
On a tractor you should be pulling via the axle mounted draw bar. Pulling from the 3 point other than plows and ground engagement implements is dangerous and a quick way to flip a tractor.

Chris

/ Pulling with 3pt, power, ability.