Ballast Loaded Tires - any down sides?

/ Loaded Tires - any down sides? #1  

caspar3259

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota L3540
I'm new to TBN and planning my first tractor purchase.

Liquid ballast in the rear tires sounds like a good idea, especially if you pick the right fluid. But are there any down sides to the extra weight? Any operations that are more difficult or less safe with loaded rears?

thanks a bunch,

-Jeff

/ Loaded Tires - any down sides? #2  
If you drive across soft yards it leaves imprints and tears up the grass if you have Ag tires on. Great traction for snow moving and that sort of stuff

/ Loaded Tires - any down sides? #3  
If you get a flat it is a big mess and more expensive to repair. That being said I wouldn't have a tractor without loaded tires. They help traction so much.

/ Loaded Tires - any down sides? #4  
I pushed a trememndous amount of snow this year and never chained up once.

If checking air pressure in tires or adding air make sure stem is at the highest point.

Oh and the flat thing, even just replacing tires costs more because they have to purge the liquid and put it back in once done

/ Loaded Tires - any down sides? #5  
As noted, there are, but I load all our tires as the pros far outweigh the cons.

/ Loaded Tires - any down sides? #6  
Forest Ranch probably doesn't get extended periods of freezing temperatures so that won't be a factor. The type of fluid can avoid this problem anyway.

Some have complained about rim corrosion but it doesn't seem to be a major factor otherwise we would hear about it a lot more on TBN.

You'll probably be looking for more weight for the rear if you have a FEL. Thinking that loaded rears will counterbalance that huge rock in your bucket may lead to overconfidence and some butt crimping.

Welcome to the site.

/ Loaded Tires - any down sides? #7  
The good and the bad,
Good
Liquid is the cheapest system. Cheaper then cast iron wheel weights.