I have one for ya'll

/ I have one for ya'll #1  

Anonymous Poster

I have one for ya\'ll

We have a massey-ferguson 231S. We use it in our orange grove, bought it brand new in 2001. It constantly gets stuck. We have a lot of sand here and the ground I don't think is ever completely dry, but the tractor has been buried to the frame on more than one occasion. Is it the tires? The type of tractor? Operator error? This usually happens when discing between the rows.

Another thing. I'm new at this whole tractor driving business. When I take off in first gear backward it goes like a bat out of hel*. From dead stop to forty miles an hour it feels like. Not that way in forward. Why is that?

/ I have one for ya'll #2  
Re: I have one for ya\'ll

The reverse speed is probably a Massey Ferguson thing. My dad has a Massey 1020, which has a three speed main transmission with a pair of two speed range boxes. This gives twelve froward speeds and four in reverse. On that tractor reverse gear is the same speed as third gear forward. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif In order to go slowly in reverse you have to change to a lower range. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif

/ I have one for ya'll #3  

Is your Massy 4wd? I have seen many 2wd's stuck in muddy fields around here. What type of tires do you have(Ag, R4, turf)?

/ I have one for ya'll #4  

I have a little lawn tractor that is the same way. 3sp forward, one reverse. Reverse is geared the same as 3rd. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif It is very easy to get into trouble fast, especially inexperienced operators, like me, or young adults.

Does your tractor have a low range? If so, switch to low range before shifting into reverse.

Not to go into the hydro-vs-gear tranny wars, er, discussions, however, that's another reason I went with a hydro transmission. Infinitely variable speed in either direction. Seems more versatile, to me at least.

/ I have one for ya'll