Workmaster 55??

/ Workmaster 55?? #1  

Jwhitehead23

Tractor
Mahindra 4530
Newbie here. Last fall I finally bought a tractor. It's a Mahindra 4530. 11 months and 200 hrs later I'm still very happy with the tractor. My only beef with the tractor is the weight. 90% or better of the work I do is somewhere other than the house which means I'm hauling it a lot. I do a lot of brush hogging, I'm using a 7' landpride and it does a great job with it. If I just used it around the house it would be hard to beat, it's a hoss. But tractor, fel, and cutter is pushin 8500lbs and that gets old pullin it all over creation.

I'm lookin at the new holland workmaster 55 4x4 with fel. It comes in at close to a ton lighter which would be nice and it's more hp. I saw it decribed on here as a blue Mahindra which is fine since my only concern with the Mahindra is the weight. Is there a better option or is the wm55 gonna be s good choice?

Thanks

/ Workmaster 55?? #2  
Most people do all sorts of things to add weight to their tractor, I think you should re-consider a lighter tractor. Power with the exception of PTO comes down to the tire to the ground and you will lose traction way before you lose power in almost all tractors. The bush hog should not be a problem but any type of scraper blade will require weight for enough traction under any heavy draft load. If anything drop the loader when mowing. You will drop 1000lbs plus and save a lot of wear on the front end. It also helps with manuverability and visability, I drop at least the bucket every chance I get. This also keeps more weight on the rear tires and any tractor man knows thats where the bread and butter is.

Just my 2 cents, probably only worth a penny.

/ Workmaster 55?? #3  
What size bushhog are you using? Do you need a 50 hp tractor? Do you mind the transmission on the workmaster?