Garden Plowing

/ Garden Plowing #1  

oldballs

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B2620 , Case 448 , Kubota B2650
I'm new at plowing, but here is my experience. I am

using a Kubota BX2660, a Leinbach 12 inch moldboard single plow, and turf tires.
The summer was dry but we had some nice rain in Nov-Dec so the rich ground was moist but not too wet. The temperatures have been above normal. ..around 50 today.

At first the plow would make a good pass but then it would just skip over the top. But by shortening the top link it dug in and stayed there. It took me awhile to figure it out. I'm real happy with the results and the BX performed nicely except for the ground clearance which drags some of the front in the dirt a little. There is no damage to the tractor however. I left the FEL mounted but the RB had to be removed since there has been no snow....thus the plowing.

Today I did two small garden plots...both about 50 x 50. And once you get the adjustments made, it goes pretty fast. Now the turned over sod/ground can break up with some snow and freezing. I guess the walk behind tiller will be busy next spring.:thumbsup: but a PTO tiller would be nice. Let's see, at this rate, a pound of potatoes/tomatoes etc is really getting expensive.:D

/ Garden Plowing #2  
Best of luck in your garden. Picking your own vegetables that you grew yourself is rewarding. They also taste much better than the varieties bought in a supermarket.:thumbsup:

/ Garden Plowing
Best of luck in your garden. Picking your own vegetables that you grew yourself is rewarding. They also taste much better than the varieties bought in a supermarket.:thumbsup: