Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tractor
    Kubota L35

Default Ear Protection

Hi All

Rleative newbie here and finding that the time on my rig may be causing trouble with my hearing. Is there a generally accepted practice of wearing hearing protection on the tractor? Has anyone else found the noise to affect their hearing?

Thanks

Default Re: Ear Protection

I use Peltor work Tunes. Listen to the radio while it cuts out the tractor noise.

Silver Member
    Tractor
    John Deere 4200

I use the Peltor FM radio muffs most of the time. They cut the noise and allow FM radio listening while working. However, I avoid any type of hearing protection whenever I am transiting on the road. I wouldn't want to not hear someone coming up behind me. However, that being said, I probably don't have much hearing left. Forty-four months in Vietnam, as a portion of 33 years in the Navy listening to large guns has done a good job on the middle frequencies. The plus side is that it allows what the wife refers to as "selective hearing". I only hear what I want to hear. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] Recommend hearing protection, however, not while transiting on a road.

Bill

Tractor
    Mahindra 4110

All the time - I use E.A.R. Plugs. Protect your hearing - it's hard (if not impossible) to get it back once it leaves you - an ounce of prevention.....

I never wore hearing protection . . . so now I wear two hearing aids. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]

Veteran Member
    Tractor
    NH TC29D

Here is a lively discussion that took place here about a year ago:

Pro-Ears Debate

Tractor
    New Holland TC33D

I always use earplugs when using the tractor & the weed-whacker. I use ear muffs when I use a chainsaw. I use both plugs & muffs when I use my brush-cutter. Now that's loud. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]

Also, I started using plugs while flying, and it's definitely an improvement.

Tractor
    John Deere 2210